A to Z Book Questions

a-z1Following almost every book blog i have read in the past few days, i have decided to jump on the bandwagon and do this A-Z Book meme question thing that originally started at The Perpetual Page Turner.

Author you’ve read the most books from:
Christopher Brookmyre, at 15 books. This surprises me exactly zero. The best part? I read them all last year.

Best Sequel Ever:
I have to say The Devil In Amber, the sequel to The Vesuvius Club, by Mark Gatiss. I stumbled across The Vesuvius Club and was drawn in by the cover. When i noticed Mark Gatiss was the author i snapped it up (i love The League of Gentlemen). I instantly fell in love with Lucifer Box, and the sequel was a huge joy when it came out. I was sad when the third instalment turned out to be the last.

Currently Reading:
Native Tongue by Carl Hiaasen (an acceptable substitute while i’m out of Brookmyre books to read).

Drink of Choice While Reading:
Tea, if and when it’s cold enough. Otherwise fruit juice/squash or beer. Or hot chocolate, if it’s christmas time.

E-reader or Physical Book?:
Nothing beats the physical book for me. It’s a visceral thing to me. A book just feels right in my hands. I’m not anti-e-readers, and i would consider getting one myself in the future; they’re practical and convenient, but they’re just not the same.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:
I didn’t date at school… I probably would’ve have had a crush on someone like David from The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly; quiet with his nose always in a book.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:
The Beach by Alex Garland. I’d seen some of the film (the shark and the blood… i couldn’t finish it after that scene) and saw the book in a charity shop and decided to see if i could stomach it in text any better. I could and i bloody loved it.

Hidden Gem Book:
Tiny Deaths by Robert Shearman. I came across this book while staying with friends. It was laying on the sofa and i just picked it up and started reading. It’s a compilation of short stories about death. I read only the first story, but when i got home i had to buy my own copy and finish the book. It’s wonderful!

Important Moment in your Reading Life:
My partner (after at least a year of trying to) finally convincing me to read a book by Christopher Brookmyre. It was then that i really immersed myself in reading. I devoured all Brookmyre’s books in between random others, joined goodreads, began reviewing, started this blog…

Just Finished:
The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories by H.P. Lovecraft. Can you call it finishing when you don’t get to the end? It was awful.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:
Boring ones? I don’t know how to categorise them. Ones about women and their humdrum lives until things get shaken up by the attractive young gardener who moves in nest door. Normal life and romance books? I don’t lead an average life, and i don’t really want to read about someone living one, either.

Longest Book You’ve Read:
According to goodreads, and eliciting no surprise from me: IT by Stephen King at 1,116 pages. It could also be my most re-read book. I was obsessed with it as a youth.

Major book hangover because of:
Carter Beats the Devil by Glen David Gold. This was an out of the blue recommendation from my partner when i (predictably) couldn’t choose a book to read. I fell into this world head first. I whizzed through it and didn’t really wanted it to end. The last 20 pages were a bit of a let down, but i was still living in that world several books later.

Number of Bookcases You Own:
Seven bookcases. One is for cooking/gardening/household books. One small one holds the 50 books i read in 2012. One holds my partner’s books. One holds two shelves of books, three shelves of tat. Two hold a couple of hundred books that i own (one case two/three books deep). One is empty, needing to find a permanent home before i can fill it.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:
Endless Night by Richard Laymon. I found this book randomly on a free/honest exchange bookcase while on holiday. I had never heard of Richard Laymon before, but it was a horror book, and i’m a sucker for those. I read it and loved it so much i left another book behind so i could bring it home with me. It became my new IT and i read it and re-read it a lot.

Preferred Place To Read:
Somewhere comfy. Mostly bed, or a big soft armchair. In winter i can often be found reading while sitting on the floor with my back to a radiator.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:
Just reading my favourite quotes on goodreads has me welling up, here! My favourites seem to veer from very random and seemingly meaningless to overly deep and tear-inducing. I have to admit some of my favourite and meaningful quotes are from books that i did not like that much overall. One of my favourites for many years is from High Fidelity by Nick Hornby, which i really, really disliked as a book. But anyway:

“Have you got any soul?” a woman asks the next afternoon. That depends, I feel like saying; some days yes, some days no. A few days ago I was right out; now I’ve got loads, too much, more than I can handle. I wish I could spread it a bit more evenly, I want to tell her, get a better balance, but I can’t seem to get it sorted. I can see she wouldn’t be interested in my internal stock control problems though, so I simply point to where I keep the soul I have, right by the exit, just next to the blues.

Reading Regret:
Man and Boy by Tony Parsons. Worst. Book. Ever. (And falls very very close to those “normal life” books i avoid so ardently.)

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):
Do The Lord of the Rings count if i’ve only read The Hobbit? Otherwise i have a ton of Poirots left to read, and all but one Sherlock Holmes.

Three of your All-Time Favourite Books:
Picking favourites causes me physical pain. Choosing right now, i will say The Sister’s Brothers by Patrick deWitt, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak aaaaand… All Fun and Games Until Somebody Loses an Eye by Christopher Brookmyre.

Unapologetic Fangirl For:
Christopher Brookmyre. Though currently i’m mostly flailing over John Whyndam. I’m pacing myself with his books though, because, you know… there won’t be any more.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:
None that i can think of, to be honest. Can i say the next Brookmyre book that involves Jack Parlabane, even though there is no official word on this ever even happening?

Worst Bookish Habit:
Still being hung up on needing to own books. Or being obsessively over protective of them (seriously, i put them in protective bags when they leave the house).

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:
Bah. My main bookcase is double/triple deep in books! Okay, fine, starting at the back top left… Stowaway to Mars by John Wyndham.

Your latest book purchase:
It has actually been a while since i’ve bought any books (gasp), but i think it was The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson from a charity shop in town.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):
Hmmm, i like my sleep too much for (even the best of) books to keep me up when i know i need to sleep. I also find reading when i’m tired very hard. It’s more likely a book will make me go to bed early so i have longer to read before i need to sleep! I’ll have to say The Book Thief, because i just did not ever want to put that book down.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

4 Responses to A to Z Book Questions

  1. prettybooks says:

    I quite happily sit on the floor and read too!

  2. lynnsbooks says:

    The Alex Garland book is much better than the film. I loved the Sisters Brothers and Book Thief – I haven’t read your third choice – I’ll have to take a look at that.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

