Liebster Award

liebster2

I have now been nominated for this award twice. The first time was over a year ago by the wonderful What Hannah Read, and a couple of months ago by the lovely Yasmine Rose. I am a terrible, awful, lazy person who hates drawing attention to herself, so it really has taken me over a year and a second nomination to get around to this. (Thanksandsorry.)

I’m guessing most people know how this works. If you don’t, here is a list of things that happen to make this work:

~ Thank the blogger that nominated you and link back to their blog.
~ Display the award somewhere on your blog.
~ List 11 facts about yourself.
~ Answer 11 questions chosen by the blogger that nominated you.
~ Come up with 11 new questions to ask your nominees.
~ Nominate 5-11 blogs that you think deserve the award and who have less than 1,000 followers. (You may nominate blogs that have already received the award, but you cannot renominate the blog that nominated you).
~ Go to their blog and inform them that they’ve been nominated.

11 Facts About Me:
1. My favourite colour is stripes.
2. My hair is long enough to use for fake moustaches.
3. I own 36 purple dice.
4. I collect notebooks.
5. I wish dodos weren’t exstinct.
6. There are six plastic dinosaurs blu-taked around my house.
7. I say “Your bum” a lot.
8. I like beer.
9. I have a solar system handing from one of my bookshelves.
10. I whistle ‘Moon River’ a lot.
11. My favourite film is Serenity.

Hannah’s 11 Questions:
1. Describe, or share a picture of, the view from your kitchen window.
My kitchen window looks out on to the drive and, across the drive, the neighbour’s kitchen window. It is really, really, dull and uninspiring.
2. Do you like board games and if so which ones?
Yes! All of them! My favourite might be Carcassonne. But i also love Smallworld, Ticket to Ride, Alhambra, Settlers of Catan…
3. When you were growing up, what kind of vehicle did you imagine you would drive when you got your license?
I… didn’t. When i was 17 i got my provisional license, but i never took one lesson. Driving wasn’t something i was bothered about.
4. What do most people do that you don’t?
Use a knife.
5. What assumptions do others often make about you and are these correct?
People assume i’m weird. And they are correct. After almost six months in my new job i was informed they had clocked my weirdness during my first interview, and that it was a (positive!) influence in them deciding to hire me. I do love my job.
6. Share a link to a song you’ve been listening to lately.
Laura Marling – Master Hunter. This woman. I can’t get enough of her music.
7. What were your favourite toys when you were a child?
My imagination, definitely.
8. What is the hardest thing you’ve ever done?
“The hardest thing in this world is to live in it.”
(There’s a Buffy quote for everything.)
9. Do you organise your books and if so, in what order?
Hahaha. I wish. I would love my books to be organised, but i have books, bookcases and shelves all over the place and in no discernible order. The most organised it gets is a small bookshelf with the next 20 books i plan to read on it.
10. What was your first computer like?
Slow.
11. What are you going to do after writing this post?
Feel satisfied that i finally got around to doing it?

Yasmine’s 11 Questions:
What was your favourite book as a child/teen?
As a young child, it was The BFG. It’s the only book i remember having read to me at night (possibly because it was the one i always demanded). When i was older enough to read myself, i read Point Horror, but the next book i remember being able to classify as a favourite would have been IT by Stephen King. I was obsessed with that book for a while.
Who is/are your favourite author/s?
John Wyndham and Christopher Brookmyre are my current favourites.
Which book, or books, has had the most influence or impact on you?
Oh gosh, i don’t know. Brookmyre’s books are what got me reading more avidly in recent years. Other than that, i don’t know. I just enjoy books. Some books i enjoy more than others, some books stay with me for longer and leave more of in impact than others, but nothing in a seriously deep and meaningful way. The only other i would consider saying is Nineteen Eighty-Four, as it was the first dystopia novel i read, and now i can’t get enough of that genre.
What is your favourite literary era/time period?
I like books that don’t specify a time period. Even if books have dated slightly, i prefer a timeless era.
How would you describe yourself as a reader?
Paced, usually. If i’m racing through a book it’s most likely because it’s really bloody good and i have the time (à la Carter Beats the Devil), or because it’s awful but easy to read and i just want to finish it (à la The Perks of Being a Wallflower). I’m also an engaged reader. I don’t want a book to be something that simply occupies my time. I want to take something from it. Whether that’s concepts, new words or simply a feeling. I will stop and re-read or look things up until i understand them. I will ponder ideas a book stirs in me.
What is the worst book you have ever read?
Man and Boy by Tony Parsons. I read it a long time ago, but can clearly remember how dull, predictable and safe it was. Such a clichéd bore.
Why did you start blogging about books?
Because i wanted to hang on to the books i read a little longer after i’d finished them. I hated that feeling of finishing a booked i really loved. I enjoyed thinking about and discussing the books after reading them. I started by just writing reviews on goodreads, but that didn’t satisfy me enough. I wanted a place when i could feel free to not only ramble as much as i wanted about the books i read, but also be able to post other book-related things.
What is the most rewarding or challenging aspect of blogging?
Writing the reviews within 24 hours of finishing the book. This is really something i hold myself to; i want to write while the book and my feelings are fresh. This is both the most rewarding and the most challenging!
Can you pinpoint the exact moment where you discovered your love of/interest in books?
No, and i don’t think there was one. I grew up in a book-reading household. Reading and loving books has just always been natural to me. To escape into another world by turning the pages.
How often do you read, and for how long?
Unless i’m busy, i read every day. Sometimes just a chapter, sometimes longer. If i’m really enjoying a book i will go to bed early in order to have more reading time! (I’m not one for staying up until the early hours reading–i love my sleep too much! But i will make more time to read.) Other times, if i am really not enjoying a book, or life is busy busy, i can put it off and not read properly for weeks. I hate those times.
Do you watch TV/movie adaptations of books, if so what is your favourite adaptation and why?
I have done and do. Not always. It depends how good the adaptation sounds (for example i refuse to watch the I Am Legend film adaptation because they completely changed the ending and it makes no sense!). My favourite, i think, is The Haunting. And let me be clear i’m talking about the 1963 film adaptation (the more recent one is awful!). That film is spooky and atmospheric and scary in all the same ways the book is. It does an amazing job and showing Eleanor’s mental state and social issues and just… it’s wonderful. Second place goes to Fight Club, which is another film that does well at adapting exactly what they book is about.

Now let’s get the focus off of me and on to a few blogs that i have enjoyed recently, that i think should be enjoyed more widely:

Adventures With Words
Books on the Edge
Chris Hallam’s World View

Confessions of a Book Geek
Fat Gay Vegan
Reading and Cats
Savidge Reads
The Sound of What Happens

And finally, 11 questions for any of the above who would like to partake in the liebster award…

1. Why did you start blogging?
2. What’s your favourite of your own blog posts?
3. What’s your favourite word and why?
4. How long do you spend reading blogs each week?
5. When is your favourite time to blog?
6. Why do you think people blog?
7. How long does it take you to compose an average blog post?
8. What do you think makes a good blog?
9. How do you find new blogs to follow?
10. Would you ever stop following a blog? Why?
11. When do you find it most difficult to blog?

(In fact, i’d be interested in anyone’s answers to these questions!)

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

6 Responses to Liebster Award

  1. yasmine rose says:

    Thank you for taking the time to take part. I love learning more about the people behind the blogs I read. I absolutely love Laura Marling too!!

  2. And finally, 11 questions for any of the above who would like to partake in the liebster award…
    Thanks a lot for that! Okay…

    1. Why did you start blogging?
    About two years ago (2012)
    2. What’s your favourite of your own blog posts?
    Tricky one! I enjoy doing funny ones the best. Or book ones. Perhaps the Iain Banks one. That wasn’t funny though.
    http://chrishallamworldview.wordpress.com/2013/06/25/iain-banks-where-to-start/
    3. What’s your favourite word and why?
    “Ambiguity”. I don’t know why. Or “mottled.”
    4. How long do you spend reading blogs each week?
    Not long enough!
    5. When is your favourite time to blog?
    Early afternoon seems to suit me. Like now!.
    6. Why do you think people blog?
    To express themselves to a wider audience.
    7. How long does it take you to compose an average blog post?
    Hmmm. Over an hour? Never timed myself!
    8. What do you think makes a good blog?
    Immediacy. It should feel like you’re talking to the reader. Wit and humour, when appropriate. Also solid, factual information.
    9. How do you find new blogs to follow?
    I tend to look up topics I’m interested in on WordPress e.g books, films, politics and go from there.
    10. Would you ever stop following a blog? Why?
    If they started annoying me. By being racist or something. It’s not happened yet!
    11. When do you find it most difficult to blog?
    When I’m at my most busy (I am a freelance writer).
    Thanks a lot!
    Chris Hallam

  3. mshannahw says:

    Yay! I enjoyed reading your answers & it’s good to see a list of other blogs you enjoy – there are only two I’ve heard of so I’ll investigate the others!

Leave a Reply

