Book Blogger “Test” (?)

testI’ve seen this about on quite a few blogs, and decided to jump on the band waggon. It looked like fun. Though i’m still puzzled by the “test”… What are we getting tested on? How do we pass or fail? Who’s marking? If we’re getting tested on pedanticism, i have so obviously passed. But whatever, on with the “test”…

What are your top three book pet hates?
I actually think i’m quite laid back. There might be things i don’t like doing myself, but it doesn’t bother me if other people do (folding corners, highlighting, making notes, etc). If i buy a second hand book that someone has done that to i actually like it.

1. When people aren’t as excited about a book as i am. Particularly people i know, or whose opinions i respect. If they don’t like a book as much as i do i get torn between worrying about my own views on the book, and doubting my respect for theirs.

2. Long and/or unnumbered chapters. Okay, i don’t “hate” this, but when chapters are pretty long, it drives me mad not knowing how many there are. I find it frustrating reading books with most chapters longer than 25 pages. I’m a bitty reader. I read on the bus, while i’m waiting for my dinner to cook, for half an hour in bed before sleep, 15 minutes in the morning before i get up. And i hate having to stop in the middle of chapters all the time.

3. When there looks to be at least 30 pages left of a book, but then the story ends suddenly and it turns out those 30 pages are preview chapters of another book. I hate that, and out of spite, i never read them.

Describe your perfect reading spot.
Late Autumn or early spring. An open window. A slight breeze. A comfy chair. A cup of tea.

Tell us three book confessions.
1. I judge books by their covers. It is a confession if i have no shame? I like a nice looking book cover, and when i know nothing else about a book, i will pick up the ones that look nice and avoid the tacky ugly ones.

2. I can’t stay up all night reading, no matter how good a book is. A book has never kept me up all night. I have never had to keep reading a book until i finished. No matter how much i might want to carry on reading, when i get tired, i have to sleep.

3. I find it hard to not finish a book. Even if i’m not enjoying a book, i find it really hard to just stop reading it. I have done it twice this year, for the first time in many years. It’s hard when i like some things about the book, but not enough to make me want to read it, and it becomes a chore and i don’t like that feeling, but it’s really difficult for me to give up.

When was the last time you cried during a book?
I had to check my read list for this. I don’t cry overly often. It has to be a book that i’m emotionally invested in and where i truly feel for the character(s). Or a book that is just trying to make the reader cry. Turns out i was quite emotionally invested in The Hunger Games, because Mockingjay was the last book i cried while reading (but then the epilogue happened, and i was just annoyed).

How many books are on your bedside table?
One. The one i am currently reading. All my books have places, and it is on shelves unless i am reading them.

What is your favourite snack to eat while you’re reading?
Something i can eat with one hand that i don’t have to look at. Biscuits or crips or fruit. Finger food.

Name three books you would recommend to everyone.
I’m not sure i would. There are books i think everyone should read, but i wouldn’t necessarily be recommending them; i know not everyone will enjoy them.

1. Herland by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

2. Days of War, Nights of Love by CrimethInc

3. Anything by Christopher Brookmyre and John Wyndham

Show us a picture of your favourite bookshelf on your bookcase.
I wrote a whole blog post on my bookshelves recently.

Write how much books mean to you in just three words.
How much they mean to me or what they mean to me?
‘How much’ would be: A fucking lot.
‘What’ would be: Freedom, adventure, comfort.

What is your biggest reading secret?
Isn’t this the same thing as those three confessions i already told you?
I think maybe the biggest thing about myself that bothers me is that i’m still hung up on actually owning books. I like owning them. I like seeing them on my bookshelves. I like having them to hand if i want to look something up, or have a sudden urge to re-read one, or even just hold one. It makes life difficult because a) space, b) money and c) i love libraries, but i’m not using them.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

Leave a Reply

