TTT: Difficult Reads

TTTThis was pretty hard, actually. I wanted to choose books that were good books, but hard to read because of the subject matter. Apparently… I haven’t read many of them. I wonder if that’s a reflection on me as a reader, or the books i choose to read.

But 10 books i found, and here they are.

Care of Wooden Floors by Will Wiles
I really enjoyed the writing of this book. It was funny and descriptive, and utterly quoteable. But. The story was almost non-existent. As well-written as the words were, there was nothing pushing them along. I put this book down and didn’t read anything for weeks. That’s how bad it was. In the end I had to give up.

Canal Dreams by Iain Banks
This book just wasn’t that thrilling, really. Especially as the description on the back promised me a kick arse female cello player murder a load of evil men. It was interesting, reading chunks an the history of the Panama canal, but the different parts of the book felt very disconnected. Then there was the rape scene. That’s never going be not difficult to read.

I Am Legend by Richard Matheson
This book was just tense from the get go. It was brilliant, but not a good book to read before bed.

The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories by H.P. Lovecraft
Just… bad. Lovecraft is not good. I was rolling my eyes and cringing and just frustrated during this book. (This book I didn’t actually finish.) He can’t describe anything and his plots make little sense.

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
This book really dragged. Things were often repeated to various degrees of detail. Lots of action and time would pass over a few pages, but then nothing would really happen and very little time would pass over entire chapters. It was inconsistent and failed to hold my attention or interest.

Chrome Yellow by Aldous Huxley
I really enjoyed this book, but it was the kind of book that takes a lot of concentration to read. I couldn’t just fall into it and let it pull me along, it made me work for it, made me pay attention. I could only manage one chapter before needing to take a break, and was often left feeling tired. A wonderful, wonderful book, though.

Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters & Seymour: An Introduction by J.D. Salinger
This is two stories in one book, and it is the second story that I had difficulty reading. It is pages and pages describing Seymour. Fifteen of those pages are spent describing Seymour’s face. If Chrome Yellow left me tired, this book left me fast asleep.

Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen
This was hard to read in an eye-roll cringey way. This author (who is basing this story on her own experiences) is waving her arms and crying out desperately for attention. The book and narrative voice are inconsistent. She claims she did not have any mental health problems, but seems to enjoy the allure she believes being labelled with such gives her. Every word just screamed, “Me! Me! Pay attention to me!”

The Inheritors by William Golding
Another booked I loved, that makes the reader work for it. It is told from the point of view of Neanderthals, whose language and connection with the world and each other is vastly different and simple than our own. They used few words, and grasping the larger concepts they were trying to convey with them took some work, but was more than worth it. I saw this picture.

The Knitting Circle’s Rapist Annihilation Squad by Derrick Jensen and Stephanie McMillan
Another cringe-inducing book. Considering the subject matter, this book was verging on slapstick, and it embarrassed itself and the reader.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

5 Responses to TTT: Difficult Reads

  1. Rachel says:

    Great list and a really interesting mix. I tried to read The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks (the same one??) and haven’t managed to finish it, it’s supposed to be iconic, but really I could barely manage it, and it’s not even that big!

    You’ve changed up your blog! (Or am I imagining it? Sometimes I worry people haven’t changed anything when I think I can see differences!)

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/top-ten-tuesday-difficult-reads/

    • Wendleberry says:

      Yes, the same Iain Banks. I LOVED The Wasp Factory, it’s one of my favourites. It’s uncomfortable at points (and outright gross at one), but it’s really, really wonderful.

      And i think you might be imagining things, i’m afraid. I haven’t changed anything about my blog in ages!

      • Rachel says:

        Hmmm. Maybe I should tackle that one again soon. I found it difficult to follow and uncomfortably weird, I put it down a lot while reading it thinking “what on earth is going on?!”.

        Haha – that’s the first time it hasn’t been true! I did wonder, but I thought your header looked different!

  2. lynnsbooks says:

    I haven’t read any Iain Banks – I willl eventually! Interesting about Lovecraft – another author that I haven’t read but people seem to have mixed opinions over.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

