2014 End of Year Book Survey

2014booksurveyIt’s now been two years to the day that I started Marvel at Words! This end of year survey is what I did to celebrate my blog’s birthday last year, so let’s make a thing of it, yeah? It’s hosted over at The Perpetual Page-Turner, as i’m sure most people are aware. On with the bookish love and celebrations!

2014 Reading Statistics

Number Of Books You Read: 32
Number of Re-Reads: None (unless a graphic novel version of a book i’ve read counts? In which case, one).
Genre You Read The Most From: Classic, closely followed by dystopia and fantasy.

Best in Books 2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2014?
I gave three books five stars in 2014, and out of those, I will have to choose The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop. A wonderfully immersive read for anyone who loves books, in any capacity.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
There were a few of these in 2014, but the one I was most disappointed by (because it was also the one I was most excited about) was The Knitting Circle Rapist Annihilation Squad. It dealt with some important and interesting subjects, but was just so slapstick as to make them irreverent and reduce them to jokes.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014?
Rough Music. I thought I would enjoy this, as I had enjoyed Gale’s Notes From An Exhibition in 2013. But I really, really enjoyed Rough Music.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?
I don’t know. I don’t really push books on people. But I guess The Hunger Games series, which I kept insisting a friend would like, and ended up being read and enjoyed by both the friend and my partner.

5. Best series you started in 2014?
I started The Broken Empire Series with Prince of Thorns and enjoyed it a lot. I have the second book, King of Thorns, on my bookshelf, and will hopefully read it in 2015.

6. Favourite new author you discovered in 2014?
Hmm, there are a couple, but deciding based on who i’m most looking forward to reading again, i’d have to say Kurt Vonnegut. I read Cat’s Cradle and already have Slaughterhouse 5 waiting on my bookshelf to be read.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
I wouldn’t say it was out of my comfort zone, but I hadn’t really read or considered graphic novels before buying The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil on a whim (because beard). I loved it. The art and the story. And i’ve been looking at and reading more graphic novels since.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
I couldn’t wait to read, and could then scarcely put down The Girl with All the Gifts. It contained all my favourite things, and I ploughed my way through it.

9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
With so many unread books waiting to be read, it’s not likely i’ll re-read many, if any. Mostly likey candidate is Write, as i’m keen to buy my own copy in order to highlight passages and scribble notes in the margins ♥

10. Favourite cover of a book you read in 2014?
Weird Lies hits all my loves. Minimal, art, colours, negative space.

wl

11. Most memorable character of 2014?
Cassandra from I Capture the Castle. Her narrative voice was so wonderful, so kind, and so smart and observant. I loved the world she was showing me through her eyes and her writing.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?
I like simplicity and a lack of heavy description, so the most beautiful for me was The Sun Also Rises. Hemingway definitely has a writing style that I adore.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/Life-Changing Book of 2014?
It’s so rare that a book is actually life changing, the chances of reading one each year is minuscule. One that made me ponder my reading life, though, was The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop. Specifically this quote:

If you read one book a week, starting at the age of five, and live to be 80, you will have read a grand total of 3,900 books, a little over one-tenth of one percent of the books currently in print.

And basically i’ve been freaking out about how many books I won’t get to read in my life time ever since.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read?
The Stand. I’ve been a King fan pretty much all my life (thanks, Mum), and have had this book on my shelf for many, many years. I was always intimidated by the shear bloody size of the thing (it’s also the uncut edition that I own and read), and though every year I’ve said I want to read fewer, but longer books, I still avoided this one. This year, though, I decided to go for it (after already having reached my goodreads challenge goal for the year).

15. Favourite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?
Although last year I started a tumblr for quotes, i’ve ended up more frequently using twitter, which is easier for typing up a small line with speed (so I can then get back to reading). There are several I really love, but work best with some context. The one I love most that works independently, though, is from one of the stories in Weird Lies:

“They are short you know – our lives. Haiku short.”

16. Shortest & Longest Books You Read In 2013?
Shortest: Hallowe’en Party at 46 pages.
Longest: The Stand at 1415 pages.

17. Book That Shocked You The Most?
I guess this has to go to Gone Girl, because although the twist wasn’t “shocking,” I hadn’t been able to guess it.

18. OTP of the year?
Nick and Amy from Gone Girl. I hated them both, which is why I really liked the ending.

19. Favourite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year?
Melanie and Miss Justineau from The Girl with All the Gifts. (Even if, for Melanie, it sometimes bordered on a reverence that was slightly uncomfortable.)

20. Favourite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously?
Flesh Wounds, because Christopher Brookmyer, duh.

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based Solely On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure?
The Godfather. I like the film, but a friend of mine loves the film, and the book. She gave me a copy of the book, and yeah, I like that well enough too, now.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?
Just like last year, I don’t have crushes on fictional people.

23. Best 2014 debut you read?
Debut published in any year but read in 2014, or debut published and read in 2014? Either way, I read very few debuts in 2014. (Something I don’t regret—i don’t understand the obsession with new releases and debuts, tbh.) In fact, the only book I read that was published in 2014 was The Girl with All the Gifts. And other than one short story in a compilation book, counts as M.R. Carey’s debut, so.

24. Best World Building/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
This is easy. Definitely The Handmaid’s Tale. The whole book was just world building. The plot was lacking, but gosh this world was vivid and well-build, and slowly revealed and so twisted.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most Fun To Read?
Has to be The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil. Just, a beard that grows and grows and grows and gets so out of control. In a place where no one ever has facial hair. Where the solution is tie a load of helium balloons to the thing so it, and the man attached to it, float away? It was sad and meaningful in places, but it was also silly and fun.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?
I actually think the only book that’s made me cry (though I may have welled up at others) has been The Hunger Games: Mockingjay. I sobbed at (but loved) the desolate, hopeless ending. Then raged at and hated the epilogue.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
I’ll say Weird Lies, because I don’t think the Liars’ League books, or short stories, generally, get enough love and attention.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
I don’t know, that’s a little dramatic. Care of Wooden Floors slowly crushed my spirit, if that counts? As well-written, funny and quotable as it was, it was also dull with no plot. As much as I dragged myself on with trying to finish it… I had to give up.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?
Hmm. Communion Town was interestingly unique. Or at least, the idea was. A book of short stories, all independent, but set in the same town. I had just hoped they would all link up in some way, have more overlap, even though they all stood alone.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
Definitely The Godfather. The sexism was rife through out, and accurate representation of the time and genre or not, it made me fucking furious.

Blogging/Bookish Life

1. New favourite book blog you discovered in 2014?
I’m such a bad blogger in terms of reading/commenting/networking. I don’t know. I follow a bunch, and if I see something that interests me, I read it. I don’t “discover” blogs.

2. Favourite review that you wrote in 2014?
There aren’t any stand out reviews, really. Having a quick look back, the review that so swiftly takes me back to the book, and makes me excited for the book all over again, is The Girl with All the Gifts.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?
Had a nice chat with Rachel from Confessions of a Book Geek about book covers one top ten Tuesday. I still love that foreign-language cover of Looking for Alaska…

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?
I took part in Live Text Adventures at Game City. While not strictly “bookish,” it involved authors creating text-based games live, as audience members played them. There were six games going on at once, with the text from all six projected for the rest of us to read along. It was so much fun!

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?
Finally getting around to posting more non-review posts, and generally getting to grips more with what I want to do with this blog. And most importantly, realising it’s my blog and I can do whatever the hell I want with it.

6. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?
Most popular by views: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay.
Most popular by comments is a three-way tie between Top Ten Tuesday: Classics, Top Ten Tuesday: Book Covers and Blitzing the Bookshelves.

7. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?
The post where I gushed about how much I love Christopher Brookmyre, because that man is a bloody fantastic writer. He deserves more love.

8. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?
Most recently, Out of Print, who sell a shite load of bookish things, of which I want to buy everything.

9. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
Via some convoluted D20 throwing method overseen by my partner, my goodreads challenge was to read 27 books. I managed 32. So. Kudos, self. I also finally read The Stand, after wanting to have read it every year for ages.

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number one Priority in 2015?
Any, and simply more, John Wyndham. I’ve gone a whole year without him, and I miss him.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?
Being released? I have no idea—i do not keep track of new releases.

3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
See above. Also: I don’t get this obsession.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?
See above. Bored now.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?
Just to carry on reading books and reviewing them all. Mine is a simple mission.

6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone?
Can this new release bullshit end any time soon, please?

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

One Response to 2014 End of Year Book Survey

  1. Pingback: 2016 End of Year Book Survey | Marvel At Words

Leave a Reply

