TTT: Bookish Problems

TTTAhh, a chance to bitch and moan, who doesn’t love that? But really, most book-related problems are more often “problems” than things that are really bothersome. A huge bookish problem for me is the limited number of John Wyndham and Christopher Brookmyre books in the world; there should be dozens–dozens of dozens–more books by these authors, simply because i can’t get enough of them. Alas, one is dead and the other can only write so fast, i guess (pfft, excuses). The problems i’ve listed here are more realistic, but just as “problematic,” in the grand scheme of things.

Not being able to read two books at once. I’ve done this on very, very rare occasions, and only when the two books are utterly different. For example, a novel and a screenplay, or a novel and a graphic novel, etc. I like to immerse myself in a book, so switching from one to another every day or two would not allow me to do that.

A preference for reading chronologically. I have tried very much to get over this, but on the whole, it is still something I prefer. Most often it happens with authors I know I want to read the complete works of. I like to start with their first novel, and work my way on chronologically from there. It’s a problem in that it can be a pain when I have an author’s fifth book on my shelf, but i’ve only read their first and second books so far…

Not enough time to read. Even if I had all the time in the world to read, this would still be a problem. I could read for 12 hours a day and complain that I needed to sleep. I could forgo sleep and read for 24 hours a day, but then i’d complain that there were only 24 hours in a day…

Indecision on what to read next. This has lessened slightly as I am currently planning what to read about five books ahead, thought that plan is always subject to change. But this can be, and has been, a huge issue for me. So much so that I bought a D20 to roll my way to my next book. My partner has also been roped in on numerous occasions to concoct odd games and mathematical formulas to help me choose my next book.

Too many books. This is closely related to the previous problem, but also isn’t really a problem, because too many books isn’t even really a thing.

Not having enough people to talk to about the kind of books I read. Maybe i’m not looking hard enough, or in the right places, but most people I see online are reading books I just… don’t. So often it is new releases, YA, and contemporary fiction. Fiction that I can’t even classify clearly, because it just seems so lacklustre and just doesn’t interest me personally. Where are all the people reading old books? Reading classics, pulp science fiction, horror and graphic novels?

Being a slow, thoughtful reader. I read slowly on purpose, to take things in. I think about what i’m reading as I read it. I often re-read entire passages, if I particularly liked them, or if I think there was more to take from it. Sometimes I find myself reading faster (most often on the bus, as I race to the end of the chapter as my stop approaches), and I hate it. It feels like i’m skimming, and letting the words flow right past me, rather than actually reading them. I like to read slowly, but it does mean I don’t read as much.

Interruptions. I hate to hate being interrupted while i’m reading, but I really, really hate it. Sometimes my partner will at least let me get to the end of a sentence or paragraph (or if i’m really close and super lucky, the end of a chapter), but only sometimes. Worst is at work on my lunch break, when people decide to take their lunch at the same time so as to have some company, not registering that hiding my face behind a book means I don’t want company!

Not wanting to lend books to people. I’m protective, okay? Not only about the condition of a book, and how someone else may (mis)treat it, but also the possibility of never getting the book back. I did lead a friend of mine my copy of 1984… about two years ago. I haven’t got it back, and she hasn’t read it yet. But I really do want her to read it, and thankfully, if I do fancy re-reading, my partner has a copy too!

Not being able to read while I walk. I like walking, other than public transport it is my main method of getting about. I listen to music while I walk, sometimes I just think, or watch the world around me. But when i’m super into a book, any time I am not reading that book feels like wasted time, and reading while walking would be a great way to gain some book time!

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

9 Responses to TTT: Bookish Problems

  1. lynnsbooks says:

    I definitely couldn’t read and walk!! That’s what I call the perfect recipe for walking into a post or falling in a ditch or under the wheels of a car!! Nope! No Sirree.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

  2. I read classics, but I don’t do many reviews. :/ Try Avid Reader’s Musings:
    http://avidreader25.blogspot.com/?m=1

    For the most part, I’ve never had a big problem lending books to close friends and family. There have been a few issues over the years – my parents lost one of my books when they moved (thankfully, I only spent $1 on it!) and my mom carried my paperback The Hunger Games around in her purse and it got all scuffed up (my husband bought me a hardback to replace it πŸ™‚ ).

    Could you listen to an audiobook while walking? Most libraries have eaudio collections now.

    • Wendleberry says:

      Thanks for the blog recommendation!

      I lend books to a very few select individuals. I know books that are now lost forever because of being lent and not kept track of. Thankfully, they aren’t mine!

      Alas, audio books and i don’t get along. I can’t stand them, to be honest! I’ll just have to carry on cramming in as much reading as i can at when i’m standing still or on the bus πŸ™‚

  3. I have so many of these on my list haha I don’t like to read two books at once either, I give all my time to one lucky book! haha

  4. Emma says:

    Hey Wendle, I definitely have trouble with deciding what to read next too! I have a massive to-be-read list but I never stick to any order, it tends to be whatever I fancy reading first which at times can be annoying when I start two series at once >.<

    Great list, and I'm a new follower so hello! πŸ™‚ Here's my TTT if you would like to check it out πŸ™‚ http://emmasbookery.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/top-ten-bookish-problems-that-i-have.html

    • Wendleberry says:

      According to goodreads, my to-read list is 376 books long. GULP! Vaguely planning about 5 books ahead is as far as i’m willing to look without being hugely intimidated.

      Thanks for the follow! πŸ™‚

  5. Emma says:

    Hi Wendle, I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award, check out the link below to see what to do next πŸ™‚ http://emmasbookery.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/ive-been-nominated-for-versatile.html

Leave a Reply

