TTT: Female Heroes

TTT I hate the word “heroine” like i hate the words “actress” and “comedienne” and the connotations that they are somehow lesser than heroes, actors or comedians. Why the need to distinguish the sex between two people who are doing the same thing? So yes, this is a list of my favourite female heroes.

One of the obvious choices is Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games, and as much as i love her, i figure at least 80% of people writing for this topic will include her in their list. So i picked 10 others. As it is, i had to cut this list down to 10, so. Sorry Katniss!

Mrs Twit from The Twits. She was a nasty piece of work, but what I love about her is that she was just as nasty a piece of work as her husband. They have a hate-hate relationship, but in terms of the tricks they play on each other, Mrs Twit gives as good as she gets.

Liesel Meminger from The Book Thief. She’s an independent, strong-willed and intelligent young girl in a harrowing and terrible situation. But she manages finds friends, love, connection and joy.

Phyllis Watson from The Kraken Wakes. She’s a smart woman who sees the dangers coming years in advance, and plans accordingly without even involving her husband. When shit finally hits the fan, it is her plan that sees them through in the end.

Eleanor Vance from The Haunting of Hill House. Although in many ways Eleanor is timid, easily manipulated and cares far too much what people think of her, she can, when the mood strike her, be hot headed, strong-willed and fiercely independent. In some ways I pity Eleanor, because I don’t at all see things how she does, but in the end she stood by her own (perhaps misguided) opinions and did what she wanted.

Melanie from The Girl with All the Gifts. From the start of the book, where she does not have all the information as to what situation she finds herself in, to the the end of the book, where she is the one who puts all the pieces together. Melanie is a thoughtful 10-year-old girl, who gives this book the kind of hopefully bleak ending I love.

Amy Dunne from Gone Girl. Don’t get me wrongβ€”i don’t like Amy, but I have to admire her. She was smart, she was patient, and she was thorough. She got shit done, and as situations evolved, she rolled with the punches and altered her plans. I hate her, but damn it I respect her.

Jane Fleming from All Fun and Games Until Somebody Loses An Eye. From repressed and tedious wife, mother and grandmother to arse kicking, gun toting, rescuer. This granny certainly kens the score.

Angelique de Xavia from A Big Boy Did It and Ran Away. She’s an innocent looking petite lady who wouldn’t stand out in a crowd. And she can kick your arse from 20 feet away before you blink.

Jasmine Sharp from Where the Bodies Are Buried. Failed actress turned private investigator, she’s willing to work outside the law and dig up long-buried secrets to get the job done.

 

This last one contains SPOILERS for The Wasp Factory. You have been warned…

 

Frank Cauldhame from The Wasp Factory. More of an anti-hero, but the twist that Frank was born a female and pumped full of drugs and lied to for most of his life made so much of his character work for me. The hatred of women he was surrounded by and the macabre nature of his hobbies. It made me like him.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

10 Responses to TTT: Female Heroes

  1. I almost went on a little rant about the word heroine too. I hate that word and everything it implies. I just went ahead and used heroine so I didn’t get too angry. Haha.
    You’re right – everyone’s going to use Katniss! She’s awesome. I can’t wait to read The Girl with All the Gifts so I can meet Melanie! She’s sounds like a really cool character!
    My TTT!

  2. lynnsbooks says:

    A great list – I was going to include Melanie – couldn’t fit all my lovely leading ladies in this week I’m afraid.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

  3. Rachel says:

    Your list is so original!! And I read the spoiler for Wasp Factory – I struggled with that book and couldn’t finish it, but having read that I’m curious to give it another go. R x

    • Wendleberry says:

      Oh, i loved The Wasp Factory. Even before the twist. But then i like exploring the psyche of twisted characters! If you do give it another go, i hope you enjoy it.

  4. Great list. I’ve not heard of any of these books but I will have to check some of them out.
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  5. Yes, Katniss is a must! Controversial choice in Amy – but a great conversation starter πŸ™‚ I’m not going with her as she doesn’t ‘save the day’ – she totally flips the day and week out! What a psycho!!!! I’d be afraid to meet her!!!! i think I am going to have to read “a big boy did it and ran away’ just based on the heroine – loving your description.
    Happy reading

    • Wendleberry says:

      Although no-one ‘saves the day’ in Gone Girl, i’d say Amy does all she can to save herself. I wouldn’t like to meet her, either–i’ll simply admire her psychotic intelligence from afar!

Leave a Reply

