TTT: Beach Reads

TTTAs with last week’s “freebie” topic, I may have interpreted “beach reads” a little too literally. I can’t help it if The Beach was the first book that popped into my head. I can’t help it if I then examined my Goodreads bookshelves for other books that were set on or contained beaches. I can’t help it if I then found more than 10 books that fit the criteria. I can’t help it if I then complied this list and thought, “Bugger it, i’ll post it.”

The Beach by Alex Garland. As the title may suggest, this book is largely set on a beach. Or, at least, on a small island. With a beach. I had tried to watch the film before I ever picked up the book, but couldn’t get through it. The book, however, I devoured.

Rough Music by Patrick Gale. Set mostly in Cornwall, the family in this book stay in a holiday cottage with the beach just on their doorstep. It’s a picturesque setting for the drama that unfolds.

Off the Map by Hib & Kika. There are several beaches in this book, which is told in short vignettes of Hib and Kika’s travels around Europe.

The Kraken Wakes by John Wyndham. Where there are sea creatures emerging from the depths, there are beaches…

Life of Pi by Yann Martel. While mostly set at sea, there are one or two beaches. And you know, the sea is a vital component of a beach.

The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks. Set on a small Scottish island, the beach may not be sunny and idyllic, but there is a beach.

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe. Your classic stranded on a desert island pick.

One Fine Day in the Middle of the Night by Christopher Brookmyre. This book is the one anomaly in my list, as I can’t be certain whether it includes a beach or not. But, there is the North Sea coast and an oil rig converted into a holiday haven for people who love sun but hate other cultures.

Lord of the Flies by William Golding. Your second classic (with a twist) stranded on a desert island pick.

Island by Richard Laymon. Shipwrecked, stalked, kidnapped and murdered. All in the sun on a beautiful sandy beach.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

12 Responses to TTT: Beach Reads

  1. lynnsbooks says:

    I love your picks – particularly The Beach and Robinson Crusoe.
    Lynn 😀

  2. Great choices! I like how literally you took the topic. 🙂 Life of Pi and Lord of the Flies are probably my favorites on your list.

  3. Rachel says:

    Although I’ve never read any of these (and I’m not sure if I ever will…) I am LOVING your TTT interpretations lately! R x

    • Wendleberry says:

      If i had to recommend only one book on this list, it would be the Brookmyre book–or any Brookmyre book. Srsly. So good, so funny. If you don’t laugh, i’ll send you a cheque for whatever you spend on the book!

      • Rachel says:

        Deal! It’s being added to the TBR. I was in a charity shop today to buy a tee for a muddy run I’m doing at the weekend. (I didn’t end up with a tee, incidently). I did however spot 7 brand new books and took them all home for £8. One of those was The Beach. If it hadn’t have been featured in your TTT I probably wouldn’t have picked it up! R x

        • Wendleberry says:

          Aww, yay! I hope you enjoy it (and your muddy run–and i hope you found a t-shirt!).
          I’ve taken to buying Brookmyre books in charity shops to send people, so if i spot a copy i can get it and post it to you if you want? 🙂

        • Rachel says:

          You’re a book pusher like me!!! ❤

          Yes! That would be great! 😀 R x

Leave a Reply

