Reader Problems

Reader ProblemsIt’s been a while since I did a bookish questionnaire. I saw this one recently at Yvo’s It’s All About Books, so I pilfered it. I always class bookish problems as more “problems” (for example, having too many books–it’s not really a problem at all). It’s all about making your choices and being okay with them. I’m pretty okay with most of my choices here.

Q: You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
I used to be a mood reader; I would decide what to read based on how I felt after finishing the last book. This has changed somewhat in the last year or so. I now have a selection of 10-20 books that are my “to read next” selection. It is highly subject to change, but I only change it now again. It’s actually a lot less stressful to have my next few books planned and ready to read—it means I don’t have to worry about it. I do try to not read too many similar books in a row; i will switch up genres, mood, style and length often.

Q: You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?
I’m terrible at quitting books—i find it so hard to give up. Previously I had given up on The Catcher in the Rye and Life of Pi… but I went back to them some time later and finished them both, with much enjoyment. I’d rather take a break from a book and come back to it when i’m in a different place than give up altogether. I have had to completely give up on two books in the last year or two, though. I disliked them immensely, but it still bothers me.

Q: The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your Goodreads challenge. Do you quit or commit?
The first year I did the Goodreads challenge I had a bit of a mad dash at the end, but I was determined to reach my goal. The last couple of years i’ve set my goal lower, with the aim of reading longer books. Last year I finished early, though, and chose to up my goal. I’m definitely not a quitter.

Q: The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?
I try not to think about it. I don’t actually own many book series, and of the ones I do, I think they all match. It bothers me a little that I have mismatching editions for some authors. However, considering I buy most of my books from charity shops, i’d rather take what I can find, than not have the books at all.

Q: Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
I don’t really need to bond with anyone? I’d be more likely to talk to someone who hasn’t read the book. Or partake in an intelligent and civil conversation with someone who loved it—i find those rather interesting. I’ve chatted with my sister about 50 Shades—she loves it, I don’t want to touch it—but we smiled and laughed and it was lovely.

Q: You’re reading a book and you’re about start crying in public. How do you deal?
I wouldn’t let myself feel it. I can get very emotionally involved, and though I don’t cry often at books, I can do. But it’s quite a conscious thing; to let myself feel those emotions. In public it is generally a lot more muted—i’m just not in a place (physically or mentally) comfortable enough to cry.

Q: A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?
This happened to me recently, when I read King of Thorns, however I didn’t realise how much i’d forgotten from the previous book until i’d already started reading. It didn’t stop me from enjoying the book, but it left with a craving to re-read the first.

Q: You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people, “Nope,” when they ask?
I hate lending my books out, and only do so to a few trusted people… and only books I have in duplicate. For books I really want to recommend and get other people to read… I will buy extra copies from charity shops and lend those out to people. I’m not even joking.

Q: You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?
I don’t think i’ve experienced this exact thing. My book slumps usually involve not enjoying a book, but not moving on. I read it sparingly or not at all, but I don’t pick up another book, which is the problem. As soon as I give up or finally reach the end and get to start a new book, I end up devouring the next one. This links back to my problem of finding it hard to give up on books.

Q: There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
This… just isn’t a problem for me. I don’t read ALL the new releases. I try to have a balance between newer books and older books, so i’m never going to always be about the new releases. I have never experienced a time where there has been a flurry of new releases that i’ve wanted to read.

Q: After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?
It varies, to be honest. There are some i’m too excited about and I will read almost immediately. Others I buy when I find them, but don’t necessarily want/need to read immediately. There are also some authors I am intentionally reading over time, so I don’t run out of their books too soon!

Are any of these big problems for you? How do you deal with them? Can you teach me how to give up on books i’m just not enjoying? Do you have any other tips?

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

2 Responses to Reader Problems

  1. Rachel says:

    LOL. When someone wants to borrow a book, I only ever part with ones I’m not fussed on, like “No, you don’t want to read my To Kill A Mockingbird 50th anniversary edition. Here, try this random chick-lit I picked up for 75p in a charity shop 4 years ago. No, I haven’t read it yet, but I think you’ll like it…” My sister is the only person who can borrow my books, and even then it’s one at a time. I have actually bought someone their own copy of a book when they’ve wanted to read it. I’ve done this a couple of times actually. Usually, it becomes the – that’s what you’re getting for Christmas then – scenario. R x

    • Wendleberry says:

      Gifting books is always a good idea!

      I find the books i most want people to read are also the books i’m most protective of (because i love them so much), so i snap up cheap copies in charity shops to thrust at people 😀

Leave a Reply

