TTT: Quitter

TTTBecause i’m terrible at quitting books (more on that later), this list is mostly a list of bookish habits I already have, am trying to, or plan to, quit. I find it harder to consciously make an effort to stop doing things, i’m more likely to just phase something out as I get less bothered about it. Or, the opposite, and just do more things instead of stopping anything i’m already doing.

But anyway, on with my quitter list.

Terry Pratchett – As I write this I have less than 50 pages left of the first discworld novel. I won’t go into details, because I sure as hell will in the review i’ll write in a day or so. I’m just… disliking it enough to know I won’t be reading any more.

Caring about the condition of books – This is something I have slowly managed to quit. It started off gradually with spine cracking and the like, but has now escalated to marking passages with a pencil. Considering I used to place books in sandwich bags before taking them out of the house, i’ve come pretty far to now be able to just chuck a book in my bag and not worry about it getting beaten up a little.

Not writing in books – Linked to the above, this is something I want to go further with. I currently add [these kinds of brackets] around passages and lines I particularly like, and mark the corner with a star, for easy reference later. But I want to make notes, write down thoughts and add commentary right there in the book. It will happen.

Buying books on a whim – More often than not, this ends badly. A book might catch my eye because of its cover or its title, and the synopsis sounds fun or intriguing or whatever… but 75% of the time, once I get around to reading it, it just isn’t that great. Instead, I should take a photo of the book to look it up later and read some reviews to figure out if it’s worth parting with the cash for it.

Having high expectations – There have been quite a few books lately that—for reasons I can’t even fathom—i have had very high expectations of. So much so that, when i’ve read them and they’ve been three-star good, i’ve actually been disappointed. I reckon I would actually enjoy these books more if I had little to no expectations of them. Not sure how to go about quitting expectations, but it’s a thing i’m going to attempt.

Finishing books i’m not enjoying – I’m already failing this one by continuing to read The Colour of Magic, but it is exactly books like this that I find difficult to give up on. I’m not loving it, but i’m not really hating it either. It’s passing time easily enough… but I want to want better than that. There are so. Many. Fucking. Books out there, why do I spend time on books that are “okay” when I could be moving on to books that are amazing!?

Not lending books – This links back in to me quitting caring about the conditions of books. I used to worry about the way other people would treat them, but now I don’t care as much. Now, instead, the only thing I worry about is never getting them back! So, a work in progress.

Needing time to read – I have been the kind of person who needs [read: wants] a large chunk of uninterrupted time to myself to read a several long chapters of books. And, while I don’t want to give up needing [wanting] that, I also want to make the most of small moments of time to read, even if it’s only a page or two. I’ve been doing this for a while by reading on the bus to and from work each day, but again, it’s something I want to do more. If I arrive early somewhere, instead of finding something to do for 5 or 10 minutes, I want to read a few pages.

Forgetting about my e-reader – A large part of the appeal of owning so many unread books is looking at them on my shelves and getting that feeling of anticipation. It’s like foreplay for reading. It’s also the reason I don’t use my e-reader anything near as much as I should—i can’t see the books. However, the fact that I keep buying the amazing sounding book sets at Story Bundle, it would be good to actually get around to reading them. So, i need to stop forgetting they exist!

Amazon – I have had a lot of issues with Amazon Logistics delivery service this year. In a word, it’s shit. They have twice left parcels in my household waste bin, once being on the day the bin was being emptied. I complained, of course, and was assured it would never happen again. Then, at the weekend, it did. This time the delivery person left it next to the bin. Not hidden, not safe from the (increasingly bad) weather… just on the floor near the bin. So, Amazon’s promises mean less than nothing—third strike and you’re out. Instead, i’m moving my business to Wordery and Hive.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

28 Responses to TTT: Quitter

  1. rosemawrites says:

    Oooh. I seldom see readers that write on their books. 🙂
    By the way here’s mine: http://wp.me/p4ZhSl-hJ. 🙂

    • Wendleberry says:

      I really want to write in books more. I want reading to be an activity I give to as much as take away from, rather than the more passive approach of only reading. If that makes sense?

  2. High expectations get me every time. I get so caught up in the hype and when it isn’t as good as I hoped, I get frustrated 😣.

  3. Terry Pratchett – Feel you on discworld, don’t give up on *him* though. Good Omens was awesome.

    Caring about the condition of books – books are meant to be loved, and that leads to looking well-loved. That is all!

    And finishing books you’re not enjoying…. I’ve started telling myself “There’s too many good books out there to waste time on a bad one.” It actually helps…a lot.

  4. Julia Byers says:

    College is what broke my not writing/bending/highlighting pages in books rules. I still don’t, for the most part, but I’m no longer afraid to if I need to. That’s one if the nice things about ereaders, too. You can highlight and make notes as you read, and not mess up the pages 😊

    • Wendleberry says:

      It was the highlighting in my e-reader that nudged me into pencilling passages in paper books, actually. And it’s not like i want to deface every page–just here or there when i want to remember a thought i’ve had.

  5. Amy says:

    I love Terry Pratchett’s books but The Colour of Magic is a difficult read. I prefer his Tiffany Aching books (still part of Discworld) or Good Omens (like SciFi and Scary mentions above).

    I can’t write in my books. I just can’t bring myself to do it. I use post it notes instead.

    And I’m rather strict about the condition of my books but I think that’s because some of my books are super old and they need looking after.

    Thanks for visiting my post earlier 🙂

    • Wendleberry says:

      It’s not that i’m finding The Colour of Magic difficult to read–or at least, not in the typical sense–it’s just not that great. I’m trying to hold it the real rant for the review! 😉

      I used to/still sometimes use a note book to jot things down about the books i read, but it was hard to remember and just annoying to carry that around with the book. A pencil, however, it really easy.

      Older, more fragile books obviously need a little bit more care, but a £3.99 paperback from the supermarket isn’t going to suffer from a bit of bashing 😉

  6. I definitely feel you on the expectations thing. The hype monster can be an evil thing. I’ve tried reading some books that I have little to no prior knowledge of, and I always seem to enjoy that experience better.

    • Wendleberry says:

      I think to have enough knowledge of the synopsis to know if it’s my kind of thing, and i read one or two negative reviews to see if there is anything that would annoy/bother me, but that’s as much as i like to know. It is often much harder when i don’t know much about a book except that eeeeeveryone loves it!

  7. Ayunda says:

    Hahaha I rarely ever write on books but I do mark the edge of the papers when I have a quote about the book I really like! Also, I actually really like lending books to my friends, especially if I know they’ll take good care of it. It makes me feel like I’m spreading the love for books to other people! 😀 Here’s my TTT: http://wp.me/p6Erc0-2M

  8. miss quickly says:

    You put books in sandwich bags? I love that! I’m pretty careless with my books so I should take a leaf out of your book. .

  9. amermelstein says:

    This is a great list! That’s the only drawback to buying books is that you can’t write in them. When I was in school, I wrote all over my books. It’s a great way to find things later and it makes them your own.

  10. teafunny says:

    Great list, I’m also working on changing my treatment of books. Books are not fragile, I shouldn’t worry about them as much as I do.

  11. Ugh, there are so many books that I definitely purchased on a whim that I don’t even think I’ll ever get to. Luckily they were rather cheap but it definitely adds up into lost opportunity cost or something.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

  12. BringMyBooks says:

    I can definitely relate to the one about writing in books! I am still such a stickler about it; I wouldn’t even write in textbooks when I was in college (highlighting was barely tolerable). I would love to be able to do this someday, but for now I just take pictures of portions that I find appealing and revisit them later to add to a notebook!

    Great list 🙂

  13. beckmank says:

    This is a great list! I never write in my books either. I just can’t get myself to do it. And yes, I like to keep my books nice. I loaned a bunch of Kinsey Millhone (Sue Grafton) paperbacks to my mother-in-law and they came back with sooooooo many creases in the spine. I think I need to take some advice from you and just let it go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

