TTT: Quotes – 2015 Edition

TTT I looooove a good quote.

I often post the ones that catch my eye or tickle me just right, as i’m reading, to my twitter and (slightly less often) to my tumblr, as well as on goodreads. It’s been a lot of fun this evening to scroll back through my twitter for the past year and pick out my very favourite quotes.

Quotes as a topic was only done in April 2015, though that was for all-time favourite quotes. This topic is specifically for quote from books read in the past year. My April quotes TTT can be found here. There is one duplicate quote, but it is both one of my all-time favourites, and from a book i read in 2015. So there.

On with the quotes!

“If you don’t change your hair style because its mostly fallen out and you don’t shave, you’ve no cause to go chasing yourself in a mirror.”

– William Golding, The Paper Men

“For years I said Let me in, Love me, Approve me, Define me, Regulate me, Validate me, Support me. Now I say Move over.”

– Joanna Russ, The Female Man

“I am not that boy […] He stands in my past and soon the curvature of the earth will hide him as the years carry us apart.”

– Mark Lawrence, King of Thorns

“It’s amazing the way one can take a step ten and a half miles long and still always land in a cowpat.”

– Diana Wynne Jones, Howl’s Moving Castle

“She was mantelpieced by a large bosom […] you could have stood things on it, a vase of flowers and a bust of Beethoven, and a family photograph or two, maybe.”

– John Harding, Florence & Giles

“Kilgore Trout once wrote a short story which was a dialogue between two pieces of yeast. They were discussing the possible purposes of life as they ate sugar and suffocated in their own excrement. Because of their limited intelligence, they never came close to guessing that they were making champagne.”

– Kurt Vonnegut, Breakfast of Champions

“His shoulders are trembling and the bar workers say nothing. It is at this moment that you fall platonically in love with Antony.”

– Patrick deWhitt, Ablutions: Notes for a Novel

“…like a sentient fart determined to be smelled.”

– Christopher Brookmyre, Bedlam

“He would say that God had given him a tail to keep the flies off, but that he would sooner have no tail and no flies.”

– George Orwell, Animal Farm

“No one knows how long five minutes is in the dark; it might be fair to say that, in the dark, five minutes does not exist.”

– Stephen King, The Stand

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

5 Responses to TTT: Quotes – 2015 Edition

  1. lynnsbooks says:

    The Lawrence quote is excellent. Plus, I love that quote from Howl’s Moving Castle.
    Lynn 😀

  2. Vonnegut wrote some weird, wonderful books, with plenty of great quotes. Howl’s Moving Castle is a favorite book and movie of mine.

  3. Pingback: TTT: Quotes 2016/17 | Marvel At Words

Leave a Reply

