TTT: Books for Christmas

TTT My wishlist is about 85% books, and i’m not sorry for that. My friends and family may moan, but i don’t understand why. I want books! So, this top ten was pretty easy. I mean, i had to narrow down the two dozen books on my list, but i managed it

On with the books!

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer – A science fiction horror dystopian trilogy this popular was bound to get my attention. Also, the covers are a thing of beauty.

Undermajodomo Minor by Patrick deWitt – deWitt’s third book, i’ve loveloveloved his other two. I had this on my wishlist months before it was published. OMFG, a new release I was actually excited about!

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris – Loki is my spirit animal.

Consider Her Ways and Others by John Wyndham – There are only a few Wyndham books I don’t own now, and i’m cutting that number down as swiftly as I can.

642 Things to Write by San Francisco Writers’ Grotto – Because I want more reasons and inspiration to write.

Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger – It’s the only Salinger book I don’t own.

The Monsterous-Feminine: Film, Feminism, Psychoanalysis by Barbara Creed – This has been on my wishlist for, i’m not exaggerating, years. I wrote my dissertation of the representation of gender in horror films and their remakes. It left me with a lasting interest.

The Dread of Difference: Gender and the Horror Film by Barry Keith Grant – See above.

Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction by Jeff VanderMeer – Gorgeous inspiration and learning.

They Do the Same Things Different There: The Best Weird Fantasy by Robert Shearman – I loved Shearman’s book Tiny Deaths, and have for a while wanted to read more of his short stories. Weird fantasy is one of my favourite genres, so it’s the one i want most.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

2 Responses to TTT: Books for Christmas

  1. Jane Doe says:

    Heart that you love Wyndham so much. I remember when you read your first : ) Also Barbara Creed is such a key text, horror’s not my thing but still got to use her a lot when I studied film and lit . Happy Christmas!

Leave a Reply

