TTT: Bookish Resolutions

TTTWelcome to 2016! I haven’t really made any sort of resolutions this year. I have general goals and ways i want to live my life, but i have those all the time, forever evolving. I guess the same applies to the following list of bookish resolutions; they’ll count for as long or as short as i care to make them count. For now, these are my aims for me, my blog and my reading life…

Interact more. Read and like and comment on other blogs more. This also includes using twitter, tumblr and other social media more. I’m rubbish at finding the time and often feel quite intimidated by the prospect, but… maybe little and often to start? Like or comment or reply to something once a day.

Read more. Sounds easy, but it means doing some other things less. Which I have already started, in an attempt to prioritise my time and hobbies. So far (as in, a few days into 2016) it is working.

To aid the above: Read at least one page a day. Even if I don’t have time or don’t feel in the mood to read: I should read at least one page. I read more days than i don’t, but some times one day of not reading turns into two, and the next thing i know i haven’t picked up my book in a week. I hate those weeks. I can see this encouraging me to read more, because honestly, who can stop at just one page? If I do stop, it means I do have other important things to do, but at least I got that one page read.

Use my twitter and tumblr accounts more, generally. For saving and sharing quotes, passages, thoughts, asking questions. Connecting with people. Anything and everything.

Write in books more. To underline passages, make brief notes, etc. Books are precious, not for their physical form, but for the concepts they hold. I want to connect more with those, by focusing more on the words and less on the book.

Organise my bookshelves. This may involve putting more shelves up, but utilising what I have more efficiently takes priority. This may or may not involve reducing the amount of books I own (but likely not, let’s be real).

Buy fewer books. I’ve already bought three this year which, at the time of writing this, is one book per day in 2016, so this might not go so well. Okay, read more books than I buy, that sounds reasonable; overall I would be decreasing my TBR pile.

Attempt to combine reading with other hobbies. I like taking photos; I could take more photos of bookish things. I like making timelapses and videoes; I could try to incorporate my love of books into film. I like writing short stories; I could write short stories inspired by books I read.

Use my nook more. I have a couple of awesome-sounding book bundles I paid real money for, it would be nice to actually read some of them! I need to remember an e-reader’s positive aspects… whatever they are. I had planned a paper vs e- vs audio book post, maybe I should get around to writing that. Using my nook could be research; I do love research!

Have fun with my reading. That’s got to be the ultimate goal, right? I can make lists and resolutions and have all the best intentions in the world, but reading has to be enjoyable, not a chore.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

18 Responses to TTT: Bookish Resolutions

  1. LizScanlon says:

    I can pretty much agree with all of those goals as well… πŸ™‚ But what really made me go “Exactly!” was the “Buy fewer books!” … Buying books is like an addition and being slightly anal about it, it really bothers me that I have so many unread books in my Kindle, my Kobo, my bookshelf! πŸ™‚
    Good luck with your goals and hope you have fun with them all.

    • Wendleberry says:

      I don’t hate having loads of unread books, especially physical books, because I love the possibility of them; the visual reminder of the joy to be had. Does that make sense? But still, I would like to actually get around to the joy of reading!

  2. No 10 – have fun! Snap! That is the most important thing πŸ™‚

  3. These are some great goals! I’m aiming to use social media more this year too, I’ve really enjoyed connecting with people via my blog so far. Working in a second hand book shop I really love seeing people’s notes in books (as long as they’re in pencil πŸ˜†). I had someone’s essay notes in a copy of Tess of the D’urbervilles once. I think your resolution to combine reading with other hobbies is great too, I’m hoping to do that more this year as well. Thanks for following by the way! 😊

  4. @lynnsbooks says:

    What an excellent list.
    Agreed that the main aim is to enjoy your reading. Everything else is secondary really.
    I also do buy quite a few books I must admit – I don’t feel too guilty about it because I enjoy it and I don’t go completely overboard. I think I should try to make more time for my own books though as I do tend to get overwhelmed by review books sometimes.
    I must admit that I’ve never really written in a book – not because I object but I’m simply too unorganised and it would involve carrying around a pen. It’s one of the things I love about the kindle – or other electronic devices. I find it really easy to highlight names, dates, places, easy to list which I really like as they’re the things that I’m most likely to struggle to remember.
    Good luck with your resolutions.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

    • Wendleberry says:

      What an excellent comment πŸ˜‰
      I don’t mind buying lots of books, because i quite love having unread books about… i just also do want to get them all read at some point.
      I started writing in books with pen when i had forgotten to carry around a pencil! I like the highlighting option in e-books, but overall… it’s still not the same 😦

  5. Ayunda says:

    I adore my Nook, I read from it all the time – I’ve had it for over 4 years and I still love it so much! I didn’t make a TTT this week but here is my 2016 resolutions.

  6. YES to buying fewer books. I’ve already bought two this year – at least one was a book I’d already read and just wanted a finished copy of. But I hope we can both cut back on spending a bit.

    • Wendleberry says:

      I’m going to try to focus more on the books i already own, but it’s hard when i walk past a book shop… my legs just take me inside and i feel happier :\

  7. rosemawrites says:

    This is such an honestly witty list! πŸ™‚ Good luck! I say yes to interacting more and reading more! πŸ˜€

  8. Pingback: 2016 End of Year Book Survey | Marvel At Words

Leave a Reply

