Book Hauling

I’ve decided i’m being too careful, too precious and too controlled with this blog. I don’t post much save reviews and memes and TTTs for fear of posts not being “good enough” or something. And it’s a load of crock. I have a “random” category for a reason, and i’m going to start using it.

And so, this post.

IMG_8606

One of my recent bookish resolutions was to buy fewer books. So of course i’m going to talk to you about the newest books that have come into my possession! I decided it would be nice to have accompanying photos, so broke out the 50mm lens, a bunch of fairy lights and some props. AM I DOING IT RIGHT?

Now, not all of these are books i bought. Some were Christmas presents, some are borrowed, and yes, some i did buy… but not that many, i swear!

IMG_8623Undermajordomo Minor is a book that’s been on my wishlist since before it was released. That so very rarely happens; i’m not one to chase new releases or request advanced reading copies or anything like that. But Patrick deWitt is apparently an exception. This is his third book, and i adored his first two. Adored them enough to click “to read” on his third without even reading the synopsis. He is a witty, entertaining and readable author. The fact he sticks to short chapters really, really helps too (must keep reading!). This was a high priority on my wishlist, and happily my parents got it for me for Christmas. Bless them, they had no idea what they were buying, but they knew it would make me happy. I’m very much looking forward to getting stuck into this one!

IMG_8627I’ve only read one or two Charles Dickens, many years ago at school. I don’t really remember them at all, but what i do remember is one of my teachers recommending i read The Pickwick Papers. I never did read it, but for some reason it stuck with me all these years. Stuck enough for me to add the book to my Classics Club challenge. This book has been lent to me by my mother-out-law, who owns an entire Charles Dickens collection. I’m fearful of cracking its beautifully untouched spine, but not enough to stop me from reading it. I’m making this book a priority in the first half of the year, both to get it ticked off my classics list, and to get it back to its owner.

IMG_8630The Scorch Trials has been on my radar since i finished The Maze Runner. I wanted to give it a go, because i very much enjoyed the story of the first book and am interested to see how it continues. However, i wasn’t so keen on the books that i was going to rush out to buy the sequel. Serendipity did its thing, and i found this copy, in excellent condition, in a secondhand shop on new year’s day for one single measly pound! I couldn’t not buy it! I’m saving this for when i need a light, easy and quick read, where i know what to expect and am prepared for the poor quality writing.

IMG_8647The third and final book in the Howl’s Moving Castle trilogy, i had The House of Many Ways on my wishlist and received it for Christmas. I haven’t yet read, though do own, the second book, Castle in the Air. I loved the first book so so much, and it was such a joyful lighthearted read, that i’m sure it won’t take me to long to get through the two sequels. I’m sure i’ll be able to finish the series this year, if i choose to prioritise them; i’ll certainly be finishing this series before starting on any new ones!

I’d never really given much thought or notice to Wodehouse until recently, when i read some of Annie’s favourite Wodehouse quotes over at Curious Wren. They were an utter delight and i knew i had to get my hands on some Wodehouse fairly swiftly. I hadn’t known where the hell to start though; the man wrote a lot of bloody books!

IMG_8650

The decision was taken out of my hands when in that same secondhand shop on new year’s day i spotted a mint condition copy of Full Moon, again for the bargainous price of £1.00. I snapped it up, only later looking up which number of which series it’s from–seventh book in the Blandings Castle series. Me being me, i can’t jump into a series at book seven, so i promptly order the first book in the series, Something Fresh, to begin the series proper.

IMG_8696I watched the I, Robot film years ago not long after it came out. I liked it well enough; it had an interesting sci-fi theme, posing some interesting questions and with a bit of action to boot. But still, it was a shiny hollywood film, playing it too close to bland and safe. From what i’ve heard, the film took one aspect of the book and ran with it in a different direction. So, i’m hopeful that a) the book will still hold surprises for me and b) will be far and away more interesting, dark and thought-provoking in comparison to the film. Also, check out that amazing cover! Really, that’s the sole reason i bought it; i didn’t want to miss out on the book cover perfection.

IMG_86761Best for last? I do have the biggest, comfiest soft spot for John Wyndham. He is without a doubt, and with a couple of regretful second-placers, my absolute favourite. I’m still buying and working my way though his books, because i just… never want them to end. Consider Her Ways is a collection of short stories, and if it’s anywhere near as good as The Seeds of Time (of course it will be, pfft), then i will be deliriously happy. I’m a big fan of short stories and the biggest fan of John Wyndham, so when the two cross over, i get bookish perfection. This has been on my wishlist for a little while (pacing, pacing), and i was lucky enough to get if for Christmas this year. The warm comfort i feel inside at the unread Wyndham books on my shelves is a special one. The best kind of anticipation.

And with that, i hope to not buy another book for a good long while! I shall stop looking for books to add to my to read list, i shall not browse Wordery.com or my own wishlist, i shall not step foot inside a bookshop without good reason (like buying for someone else!). I shall not buy books!

Sigh. Even Dave isn’t buying it.

IMG_86821

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

7 Responses to Book Hauling

  1. Super cute photos, and of course I’m always here for a mug with a W on it 🙂 Lots of stuff on here I either haven’t heard of, or haven’t read, and I love that. Happy to see you’re gonna diversify posts! I know I like blogging a lot more now that I’ve freed myself to do different things.

  2. good luck with that not-buying-books thing..

  3. @lynnsbooks says:

    Haha – I love this post. Your pictures are fantastic. Happy reading.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.