TTT: Books on a Whim

TTTLooking through my books, I was quite surprised there were so many I had picked up on a whim. I used to do it a lot more than I do now, because now I have so many books on my to read/to acquire lists, that I don’t need to go looking for more and wasting my time on potentially disappointing books.

I’ve gone so far in recent months as to give away books I bought on a whim and still haven’t read—because i’ll never get around to them when I have so many I have chosen with more care and insight.

I was quite strict with my “whim” criteria here. These are books I knew nothing about before coming upon them—I read nothing but the blurb, hadn’t heard of the author, wasn’t recommended them. Nada.

As you would expect, my experience has been hit and miss…

The Day of the Triffids
I don’t even remember how I came into possession of this book. I thiiiiiiink it might have belonged to one of my parents? It was just a book I remember always being on my book shelf. I read it randomly some time in my teens and loved it. I’ve been a steadfast John Wyndham fan since.

A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian
This I found in a local café which has a small bookcrossing spot. The cover and synopsis caught my attention, and hey, it was free. So I brought it home and signed up for book crossing. I liked the book well enough, but on the whole was underwhelmed. I’ve not used bookcrossing since :\

Weird Lies
When I’m bored sometimes I scroll through the goodreads give away pages, stopping on books whose cover catches my eye. I read the synopsis and if it sounds like something i’d enjoy, I enter to win. This is one of the books I won. I love short stories, I enjoy bizarre tales; I adored this book! I’ve since parted with money for other books in the Liars’ League series.

The Care of Wooden Floors
I used to be a sucker for cheap book shops. The Works was (and on occasion still is!) one of the worst offenders for me. Books catch my eye, and when they cost so little it’s too easy to just… leave with them. As much as I loved the writing style of this one, not very much happened and the chapters were long… I had to give up before the end.

The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil
I went into my local comic book shop looking for the first Serenity comic. Instead, I saw this massive hardback beauty and it came home with me. Beards, striking black and white images, humour… I was in love.

The Little Book of Vegan Poems
When visiting family, this lay on a pile of books in someone’s bedroom. The minimalistic cover caught my eye, while the words “vegan” and “poems” caught my attention. I picked it up and finished it the same day. A little gem.

Write
This was a random library find. I was intrigued by the striking cover, the subject matter, and the essay structure. Reading it was such a delight I ended up buying my own copy so I could highlight passages and write in the margins! Love!

The Female Man
Another library find, but this one in a library sale. I always—always—pick up SF Masterworks books. I don’t always buy them, but I always read the blurb and see if it sounds interesting. This one hit all my spots and I happily parted with 25p in order to take it home! It may not be my favourite book, but I did love it and I certainly have Joanna Russ on my radar for future book purchases.

The Hourglass Factory
This was one of my most recent on-a-whim purchases, and is the one that has most strongly turned me away from the practise. The cover was gorgeous and the premise sounded brilliant. Unfortunately I had my hopes far too high and the book was a huge disappointment.

Tiny Deaths
Several years ago I staying with friends when I found this book laying unattended on a sofa. It was a book of short stories around the theme of death… it sounded interesting and I had nothing better to do. I read the first story or two and enjoyed them a lot. When I got home I ordered my own copy. This is still one of the books I recommend to other people the most.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

7 Responses to TTT: Books on a Whim

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    The Triffids is such a great book – I’m trying to remember when I read it and if it was on a whim or not but I’m not sure.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I’ve recently been having terrible experiences with awesome covers and even more stellar synopsis blurbs as well (or maybe I’m just evolving into a Grinch and nothing pleases me anymore). Though disheartening (re: hype), I can’t see my whim buying halting anytime soon haha.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    • Wendleberry says:

      I now tend to whim-buy books i already know i want to read. Like this morning, when my hand slipped and i bought 4 Shirley Jackson books online. Oops? 😀

  3. I loved the day of the triffids! Have you read Jam? It’ś also one of the crazy catastrophic Sci fi novels I like

Leave a Reply

