About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

7 Responses to Why I Skip Straight to the Negative Reviews

  1. LizScanlon says:

    Great post and I would agree with what you’ve said. Negative reviews have also made me want to read the book more than a positive review. Sometimes it’s even just the curiosity of ‘I want to experience how bad this really is’ with an occasional outcomes of- ‘Oh, that was actually totally worth my time!’ 🙂

  2. I do exactly the same thing – but I’m more likely to trust negative reviews if they mention something that I also don’t like. I rate shared dislikes higher than shared likes when I’m choosing my next book 😀

    • Wendleberry says:

      I agree about shared dislikes, and trusting that over shared likes! I can still want to read a book if a negative review mentions something i don’t like, but there are certain things that are deal breaks and will help me avoid a book.

  3. I love to see a book with both really great reviews and really negative reviews as well. It makes me think it might be worth checking out. There’s a bizarre logic there, right?

    • Wendleberry says:

      If there is generally divided opinion, it’s only right that you read the book and make your own mind up! When people seem to love or hate a book, i’ve often found i’ll think it’s just okay…

  4. Pingback: TTT: No Great Expectations | Marvel At Words

Leave a Reply

