TTT: No Great Expectations

TTT These days i don’t often read books I don’t at least know a little something about. I’ll either have heard of or about it somewhere, or I’ll have read a few (negative, aha!) reviews, or it’ll be a book that’s received a lot of attention… all of these things lead to me forming some kind of expectation. I expect the book to be good, I expect it to be written a certain way, to include certain things. In some cases I may actually know what happens (sometimes I want spoilers, okay!?).

It’s important to me to find out something about a book before reading it, so I can be fairly certain i’m going to enjoy it. If i’m going to commit hours of my life to a book, it’s nice to know ahead of time that those hours won’t be wasted. Because when I do pick up a book I don’t know anything about, either on a whim or following a recommendation from a friend, to then really not enjoy it is one of the worst feelings.

On the other hand… there is no better feeling than reading a book you know nothing about and falling head over heels in love with it. This list is about those books.

1. The Passage
The book that inspired this topic. All I knew about this book was apocalyptic/dystopian and vampires. I had no idea on the plot, the characters or the writing style… but I bloody loved it all.

2. The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet
Requested on a whim from NetGalley, I dragged my heels on reading it – which I regret mightily. This book surpassed my wildest dreams with the characters and subject matters it incorporates. I adore it.

3. The Sisters Brothers
A random recommendation from a friend, all I knew was ‘western’ and didn’t know what else to expect. I could not put this book down. The narrative voice, the characters and comedy… I whizzed though it and instantly counted deWitt as a new favourite author.

4. Tiny Deaths
This is a book of short stories I came across on a friend’s couch. I read the first one or two when I had nothing else to do, and instantly ordered my own copy when I got home. I still need to get my hands on more Shearman story collections.

5. The Paper Men
I’m a big Golding fan and want to read all his work, regardless of what the books are about. I chose to read this one simply to tick of a box in my bookish bingo in 2015. I fell in love pretty quickly, and on reading some reviews before i’d finished the book, I was surprised to find a lot of other people hated it!

6. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
I can’t even remember why I bought this one, but I fell in love with the unique narrative voice so strongly, I was thinking in-character for weeks after i’d finished it.

7. Carter Beats the Devil Foisted on me by my SO when I couldn’t decide what to read, I thought I’d quickly give up and start something else. Instead I fell head first into this world, so much so I was still living in it several books later.

8. American Gods
This has been in my possession for so many years I do not know how I acquired it. Did I buy it from a charity shop? Did I steal it from my mother’s collection? Did it just materialise on my shelf? We may never know. I pulled it from my shelf to read impulsively, and despite the title putting me off, thoroughly enjoyed it. (In fact i’m currently trying to get my SO to read it before the TV series comes out!)

9. The Gigantic Beard the was Evil
I caught sight of this in my local comic book shop (how could it not?). All I knew was evil gigantic beard and comic book. To be fair, maybe that was enough to know i’d love this one…

10. Why I Write
An impulse buy as I was leaving a bookshop, I started reading it because it was short. I got so much more than I anticipated from the title, and I spent a lot of time underlining some excellent quotes.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

2 Responses to TTT: No Great Expectations

  1. Good topic!! I like going into a book with no expectations and loving the book afterward. The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein is a book that definitely falls into this category for me.

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2017/01/top-ten-tuesday-freebie-top-ten.html

Leave a Reply

