Face-Off Friday: Fire

This week, the covers that will be judged and compared all feature fire. It didn’t take me long to decide on a book; Firestarter by Stephen King was an easy and apt choice. There were so many covers to choose from! I limited myself to 8, with only one English language edition. They all, obviously, feature fire. Let’s take a look at them…


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first is (apparently) the kindle cover, and I’ll admit i picked this because it immediately caught my eye and was my favourite of the English language covers. Bold colour, negative space, art. I love this one, straight off the bat.

The second is a German cover, and while i like the painful/angry hand gesture and the overlying flames, it’s in a cringy way. Overall, i have to say i’m not a fan.

Number three is a Hungarian cover, which i actually really like. For me it wasn’t obvious what i was seeing at first. It feels arty, and i like the colours. The fact that it’s then Charlie, the main character, and a unique looking fire make it stand out nicely for me.

Four is a Portuguese cover that i’m trying not to laugh at. Is this a book about fire ghosts haunting burning buildings? Because that’s what i would guess, looking at this cover!

The fifth is a Danish cover, and while i don’t hate it, it feels like a safe cover; a style that doesn’t stand out or offend. It’s average.

Number six is another good one. It’s a Spanish cover and it has negative space, an awesome font, a fire explosion that stands out brilliantly against the black. Another contender here.

Seven is a Czech cover, and this is another i love for the cheesiness. The literal hothead, the pink title that looks like it was made using Word. I love it, but i also hate it.

And the eighth is a Swedish cover, and a possibly surprising potential. I like the font and the wonk it’s on. I like the simple teddy bear on fire, and all that innocence/danger implies. Yeah, quite like this one.

Results? Although i really like the third, sixth, and eighth, that first one hits all my most favourite cover penchants so spot on. It’s another one i’d frame!

What do you think of this selection of covers? Which is your fave? I won’t laugh (to your face) if it’s one of the cheesy-cringy ones πŸ˜‰

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

5 Responses to Face-Off Friday: Fire

  1. sjhigbee says:

    This is a great choice for the subject – and it has to be the 8th cover for me. I love the tilted font and the teddy bear on fire, which is unexpectedly disturbing.

  2. @lynnsbooks says:

    I like your choice this week – that cover, for me, epitomises King.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

