Monsters of Men

Monsters of Men book coverTitle: Monsters of Men

Author: Patrick Ness

Summary: Three armies march on New Prentisstown. The New World is at war. Todd and Viola are caught in the middle with no chance of escape.

How can they hope to stop the fighting? And if war makes monsters of men, what terrible choices await?

Rating: ★★★★☆ 4/5

Review: The third and final book in the Chaos Walking series. I originally started reading this book way back in December 2019, and soon after I began to struggle with reading and finishing books (thanks, global pandemic!). I’m finding my way back on to the reading horse and have been picking up previously unfinished books. I think it’s quite nice that I finally finished this one in December 2022—three freaking years after I first picked it up. Woo!

I loved a lot about this book, but a lot of it wasn’t the things I’d loved about the other two books in the series. And I don’t think I can truly talk about why without giving away some spoilers. So read on with caution, if you haven’t already read this one…

My biggest gripe would be the length. It did not need to be 600 pages long. There wasn’t enough plot or action to warrant the amount of words. It was only really the last 150-200 pages where things really picked up. Most of the book sees Todd and Viola having the same conversations over and over again. No one trusts the Mayor but they’ve got to keep an eye on him. No one trusts Mistress Coyle but they’ve got to get the truth out of her. Everyone wants peace but some people want glory to go along with it. Yadda, yadda, yadda. As much as it was easy to read, a large chunk of the book felt like a bit of a slog. I’d read 40 or 60 or 80 pages but the plot wouldn’t have moved forward much at all.

My second biggest gripe is how no lessons seem to be learnt re: the mayor and Mistress Coyle. Come on, folks, of course the mayor is up to something! Of course Mistress Coyle has secrets up her sleeve! Was it supposed to be surprising when the mayor flew the scout ship? Was it supposed to be a shock when Mistress Coyle blew herself up in an assassination attempt? Was it supposed to be a massive revelation when the mayor admits he’s been inside Todd’s head the entire time? Because none of them were. These things were telegraphed to me in details throughout the book. When they happen my only reaction was, “Well yeah, I knew that.”

Despite these issues there were a lot of things I loved. I loved the Spackle—the Land—finally being fully involved and learning more about them. I loved the parallels between Todd and the mayor, Viola and Mistress Coyle, and the Return and the Sky. The parallels weren’t exactly subtle, but seeing all these characters, ostensibly from different groups and culture and backgrounds, all going through the same struggles and learning the same lessons was really quite powerful.

As much as I was always rooting for Todd and Viola, they weren’t my favourite characters in this book. They were playing the same tune the entire way through, that they’ve been playing since the first book. Seeing them get together was also kind of odd, as I’d got such strong platonic vibes from them the entire time. They love and trust each other immensely, but I saw that as more of a familial bond than a romantic one. Kinda awkward.

My favourite characters were the Return and the Sky. As much as the Return frustrated me a lot, being driven by his emotions and desire for revenge, I could sympathise and understand. And the Sky was such a wise character, gently guiding the Return and offering him a way back to the Land. I’m only sad their parts of the book were shorter (or, more accurately, that the other parts were too long!).

Ben, of course. That was a genuine surprise to me. And a very happy one at that. Losing him twice previously I did not expect him to be back, and in such a meaningful, wonderful way. I loved him anyway, but as a part of the Land, and bridging the gap between them and the Clearing was perfect.

And of course Wilf. Big love for the Wilfster. Standing there with his Noise wide open, being the unofficial Sky of the Clearing. His vibes are immaculate and I adore him.

Of course the best thing about the book, the driving theme of the entire story, and the thing I’m still thinking about, is summed up nicely by the title. Throughout the book the overwhelming message from the several groups of people is a desire for peace. A desire to live a simple life without fearing for their lives or having to take up arms. Yet it is the actions and desires of a few—the few in charge, the few with power and influence, the few with selfish personal motivations—that dictate the course of action. That create monsters out of people and drag them into a war they’d rather not be fighting. It is a depressingly accurate account, I think, of power and how those who have it often choose to wield it.

I will admit to skipping a head a time or two, simply to ensure my very favourites lived, or to at least prepare myself if they didn’t. But honestly, the thing that hit me hardest and had me sobbing was Acorn. It was so clear it was coming, and I hated it. It was Manchee all over again and I was not okay. The strong emotional connections characters make with their animals through Noise is actually beautiful.

I loved the open but incredibly hopeful ending to the book. That what Todd and Viola fought for for three long books has still not happened, but is finally, possibly, within reach. That’s it’s left open for the reader to imagine what peace in this world and a life together might look like.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

One Response to Monsters of Men

  1. Pingback: 2022 End Of Year Book Survey | Marvel At Words

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.