Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

Unpopular OpinionNabbed from Bitches with Books, I am acutely aware my taste in literature does not run in the most popular tastes, so I thought this would be a great little questionnaire to complete. I do love a good rant!

A popular book you didn’t like:
The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I found it pretentious and trying too hard to be meaningful. It was just poorly written hipster shit, as far as i’m concerned.

A book series that everyone hates but you love:
The Lucifer Box series. While I wouldn’t say this series is unpopular, it’s not popular, either. I think many people who have read at least the first one found it just ‘okay’, while I found the entire series hilariously light-hearted and fun.

A love triangle where the main character ends up with the person you didn’t want them to end up with:
Urgh, any love triangle? Any love triangle where any pair ends up a couple. It’s awful. I’d rather the person in the middle remained single or ended up with someone entirely different. The obvious example is Katniss in The Hunger Games. Just because two guys like her, doesn’t mean she has to choose between themβ€”they aren’t the only two guys in the world and she doesn’t owe them anything just because they fancy her.

A popular book genre you rarely reach for:
I hate that it’s even considered a genre, but YA. Also romance and contemporary fiction. I just find them repetitive and dull. Too much like real life, and i’d much rather live my own than read about other people’s. I read books to escape reality, or for an interesting commentary on it. YA, romance and contemporary very, very rarely offer that.

A popular beloved character you didn’t like:
Miss Marple, the nosey old sod. I love detective characters with egos, but hers rubs me the wrong way. It doesn’t suit her. I hate the way she plays the doddering old fool and people fall for it.

A popular author you can’t seem to get into:
Oh, I can name several. John Green, Terry Pratchett, Nick Hornby, Tony Parsons, Clive Barker… They’re all just… a bit dull, play it safe and are far too two-dimensional in their writing.

Popular trope you’re tired of seeing:
I’m not sure i’m tired of seeing any, just because I avoid all the ones I hate. All the ones I hate are most often found in the genres I don’t read (see above). Instant love, love triangle, perfect girl, etc, etc, ad nauseam, yawn.

Popular series you have no interest in reading:
Twilight and Fifty Shades of Grey and etc. Just… no.

The saying goes, ‘The book is always better than the film’, but what film do you prefer to the book?:
I’m really not sure there is a film I prefer to the book. Even if the book itself is not great, it has more detail, context and explanation than the film. I think the closest I can get is where I think the book and the film are both as good (or bad) as each other. The Haunting of Hill House and its 1963 film adaptation are both amazing. Neither What Dreams May Come nor its 1998 film are quite good enough; what one does well the other doesn’t. Fight Club is another example of both the book and its film being done really well.

About Wendleberry
I'm odd.

3 Responses to Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

  1. Claire (BWB) says:

    I sort of agree with John Green, I loved Looking for Alaska but everything else makes that book feel like a one hit wonder.

Leave a Reply

